The Open Championship future sites

Published on

The host courses for The Open Championship for the next four years have been determined.

Here we will take a look at each venue, including the previous years in which the course hosted The Open and who won the tournament each year.

2019: Royal Portrush

A view of the par-4 15th hole at Royal Portrush.

The Open will be held at Royal Portrush Golf Club in Country Antrim, Northern Ireland, for just the second time and the first time in more than half a century.

Englishman Max Faulkner won his first and only major at Royal Portrush in 1951, when he was 3-under for the tournament.

  • 1951: Max Faulkner

2020: Royal St. George's

Phil Mickelson plays the 10th hole of Royal St. George's.

For the 15th time in the history of The Open Championship, Royal St. George's Golf Club in Kent, England, will host the major in 2020.

It was the first English course to host The Open and it has been a familiar host for Tour players in the last century-plus, even despite a 32-year break from 1949 to 1981.

The last time Royal St. George's hosted The Open was in 2011, when Darren Clarke won in his 20th start in the major – four more attempts than the previously held record for most appearances at The Open by a golfer before his first win. He won by three strokes over Dustin Johnson and Phil Mickelson.

  • 2011: Darren Clarke
  • 2003: Ben Curtis
  • 1993: Greg Norman
  • 1985: Sandy Lyle
  • 1981: Bill Rogers
  • 1949: Bobby Locke
  • 1938: Reg Whitcombe
  • 1934: Henry Cotton
  • 1928: Walter Hagen
  • 1922: Walter Hagen
  • 1911: Harry Vardon
  • 1904: Jack White
  • 1899: Harry Vardon
  • 1894: John Henry Taylor

2021: St. Andrews

The 18th hole at St. Andrew's.

2021 will mark the 30th time the legendary St. Andrews Links has hosted The Open.

The Open Championship has returned to Fife, Scotland, roughly every three to six years since the 1870s for one of the most unique challenges on the PGA Tour. Tiger and Jack have both won there twice.

  • 2015: Zach Johnson
  • 2010: Louis Oosthuizen
  • 2005: Tiger Woods
  • 2000: Tiger Woods
  • 1995: John Daly
  • 1990: Nick Faldo
  • 1984: Seve Ballesteros
  • 1978: Jack Nicklaus
  • 1970: Jack Nicklaus
  • 1964: Tony Lema
  • 1960: Kel Nagle
  • 1957: Bobby Locke
  • 1955: Peter Thomson
  • 1946: Sam Sned
  • 1939: Dick Burton
  • 1933: Denny Shute
  • 1927: Bobby Jones
  • 1921: Jock Hutchison
  • 1910: James Braid
  • 1905: James Braid
  • 1900: John Henry Taylor
  • 1895: John Henry Taylor
  • 1891: Hugh Kirkaldy
  • 1888: Jack Burns
  • 1885: Bob Martin
  • 1882: Willie Fernie
  • 1879: Jamie Anderson
  • 1876: Bob Martin
  • 1873: Tom Kidd

2022: Royal Liverpool

Royal Liverpool will play host to its 13th Open when the Championship returns to the famous port city in 2022.

This will be the third Open held at the course since 2006.

  • 2014: Rory McIlroy
  • 2006: Tiger Woods
  • 1967: Robert De Vicenzo
  • 1956: Peter Thomson
  • 1947: Fred Daly
  • 1936: Alf Padgham
  • 1930: Bobby Jones
  • 1924: Walter Hagen
  • 1913: J.H. Taylor
  • 1907: Arnaud Massy
  • 1902: Sandy Herd
  • 1897: Harold Hilton


This site has a new Privacy Policy. We use cookies to understand how you use our site and to improve your experience. By continuing to use our site, you accept our use of cookies. To review our Cookie Policy, visit our new Privacy Policy.

PGA logo
PGA of America

Experts on the business and game of golf. The best coaching tips and latest golf news delivered straight to you. Sign Up to get the latest.

© Copyright PGA of America 2019.Privacy Policy